Wonder Woman Goes Rogue In a World Of Evil Monkeys

It’s been one of those weeks with kids where, despite all our good intentions, we ended up eating way too many tacos and frozen pizzas.

You know how it is…. I kept meaning to make beef slow-cooker stew, but kept forgetting to pull steak out of our freezer because our two-year-old daughter, Bridget, has been waking up around 3:45 AM each morning to shriek inconsolably for a couple hours.

img_4259
Take THAT, evil monkeys!

I have no idea what’s going on and all I can get out of her is the word “mankeys,” said repeatedly in a panicked voice. I can only assume she’s having evil monkey nightmares which climax in her bloodcurdling screams.

They must be godawful scary monkeys, from what I can tell.

Hopefully, we’ll get to the bottom of it. But in the meantime, I decided everyone really needed a proper meal. Desperately needing a break, I asked John to take our four-year-old daughter, Brontë, to the grocery store to pick up the ingredients. Someone needed to stay home with Bridget, anyway, while she slept off yet another crazed monkey hangover.

So John took Brontë to the grocery store, where they had a good time. After finding her Wonder Woman tiara in the backseat of our car, Brontë put it on and talked about saving the day for the rest of the ride.

IMG_4354.jpg
Wonder Woman in the backseat

In the store, John told her she could “save the day” by grabbing food off our list and putting it into the cart. This method has been working well, by the way, for minimizing grocery store tantrums. Brontë seems less bored when she’s involved in the process.

And I heard she mostly did a great job, apart from when he asked her to to grab celery and she came back with some fruity Starbucks drink instead.

Well, everything was fine until they came back home, where John piled all the grocery bags on the kitchen table. In the middle of putting everything away, he reaches into one of the bags and pulls out a ginormous bag of gummy bears.

He drops it to the table with a THUD. We both stare at it.

gummy-bear

Brontë stops in her tracks, puts her hands on her hips and says, “Whoa! Look at that!”

“I wasn’t expecting that,” John said.

And Brontë, feigning shock, says, “Wow, yeah… that’s really weird.”

John bunches up his eyebrows. “So, that giant bag of gummy bears just happened to fall inside our cart?”

 

Finally, Brontë flings both her arms over her head:

“FINE. OKAY, I GRABBED THEM. You caught me, guys… IT WAS ME!” Then she ran to her room in a panic and slammed the door.

(She really caved under the slightest pressure, didn’t she?)

Maybe she’d been inspired by her baby sister’s attempted chocolate heist last week, but I’m not sure how she thought she could pull this off. First of all, she’s obsessed with gummy bears and everyone knows it. She sings the gummy bear song all the time. A better move leading up to this crime would’ve been faking gummy bear nonchalance.

I still can’t help being impressed that she managed to grab such a huge bag, slip it into the cart unnoticed, then play stupid while the checker was ringing it out. But she overlooked one critical element: she needed to pay attention to which grocery bag contained the contraband, so she could later create a distraction and then make off with the goods.

A fine effort, I have to say. she needed to iron out a few kinks.

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Wonder Woman Goes Rogue In a World Of Evil Monkeys

    1. Thanks, I thought so too 🙂

      I wasn’t sure if I should’ve let her have the gummy bears, if it was encouraging bad behavior or not. But I figured I’d give her a pass since she’s only 4 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well she would obviously LOVE that, though I’m not sure whether she’d eat it or just cart it around until it was baked in carpet fuzz…

      Like

    1. Haha, thanks! The kids keep me on my toes but at least they’re really entertaining about it 🙂

      I’ve been great, how about you? We’ve been trying to sell our house and move for months now and finally did it a couple of days ago and are excited. Hope you’re doing well too!!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m good too! I’m preparing to apply to the UK for law but I doubt I’ll get it,but no harm trying right? I’m gonna be going on holiday soon too!
        Oh really? :)) Nice! Guess I’ll find out all about it when I read your posts tmr,its getting so late over here haha. Cya

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That’s so exciting! I hope you get it. Then you could write all about what it’s like to live in another country and cultural differences and have all kinds of material (when you’re not super busy studying law).

          Goodnight! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yeah I hope so! Whatever the case, I really want to live in another country eventually. I don’t like the idea of confining myself to where I am right now and not experience what the world has to offer 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

            1. That would be spectacular! I’ve travelled a lot but never lived in another country (if you don’t count working in Germany for a few months).

              The world is huge and it would be exciting to see “new” things again. Especially when you’re single and have no kids or ties yet. 🙂

              Like

Leave a comment